ICONN 2018 International Conference on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology 29 Jan - 2 Feb 2018 | University of Wollongong, Australia

ICONN Plenary Speakers

Sir Fraser Stoddart

The academic career of Fraser Stoddart, who was born in the capital of Scotland on Victoria Day (May 24) in 1942, can be traced through thick and thin from the Athens of the North to the Windy City beside Lake Michigan with interludes on the edge of the Canadian Shield beside Lake Ontario, in the Socialist Republic of South Yorkshire, on the Plains of Cheshire beside the Wirral, in the Midlands in the Heartland of Albion, and in the City of Angels alongside the Peaceful Sea. He was raised, an only child, on a mixed-arable farm a dozen miles south of Edinburgh. His formal education began with his attending the local village school in Carrington, Midlothian when he was four. A rigorous introduction to the three Rs - namely, reading, writing and arithmetic - made it relatively easy for him to make the transition to Melville College, a high school in the middle of Edinburgh. He went to Edinburgh University in 1960 and graduated with a BSc degree in 1964. During his time as a postgraduate student in the Department of Chemistry he cut his teeth in research investigating the nature of plant gums of the Acacia genus within the School of Carbohydrate Chemistry under Professor Sir Edmund Hirst.

Show More »

Professor Ada Yonath

Professor Ada Yonath is the current director of the Helen and Milton A. Kimmelman Center for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly of the Weizmann Institute of Science. In 2009, she received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry along with Venkatraman Ramakrishnan and Thomas A. Steitzfor her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome, becoming the first Israeli woman to win the Nobel Prize out of ten Israeli Nobel laureates, the first woman from the Middle East to win a Nobel prize in the sciences, and the first woman in 45 years to win the Nobel Prize for Chemistry.

Professor Steven Chu

Steven Chu is the William R. Kenan, Jr., Professor of Physics and Professor of Molecular & Cellular Physiology at Stanford University. His has published over 280 papers in atomic and polymer physics, biophysics, biology, batteries and other energy technologies. He holds 14 patents, and an additional 6 patent applications have been filed in the past 2 years.

Show More »

Professor Shanhui Fan

Shanhui Fan is a Professor of Electrical Engineering, and the Director of the Edward L. Ginzton Laboratory, at the Stanford University. He received his Ph. D in 1997 in theoretical condensed matter physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). His research interests are in fundamental studies of solid state and photonic structures and devices, especially photonic crystals, plasmonics, and meta-materials, and applications of these structures in energy and information technology applications.

Show More »

Professor Laura Na Liu

Laura Na Liu is Professor at the Kirchhoff Institute for Physics at the University of Heidelberg. She received her Ph. D in Physics at the University of Stuttgart in 2009, working on 3D complex plasmonics at optical frequencies. In 2010, she worked as postdoctoral fellow at the University of California, Berkeley. From 2011 until 2012, she has worked at Rice University as Texas Instruments visiting professor. At the end of 2012, she obtained a Sofja Kovalevskaja Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and became an independent group leader at the Max-Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems in Stuttgart. She joined the University of Heidelberg in 2015. The research of Laura Na Liu is multi-disciplinary. She works at the interface between nanoplasmonics, biology, and chemistry. Her group focuses on developing sophisticated and smart plasmonic nanostructures for answering structural biology questions as well as catalytic chemistry questions in local environments.

Professor Lei Jiang

Lei Jiang received his B.S. degree in solid state physics (1987), and M.S. degree in physical chemistry (1990) from Jilin University in China. From 1992 to 1994, he studied in the University of Tokyo in Japan as a China-Japan joint course Ph.D. student and received his Ph.D. degree from Jilin University of China with Prof. Tiejin Li. Then, he worked as a postdoctoral fellow in Prof. Akira Fujishima's group in the University of Tokyo. In 1996, he worked as researcher in Kanagawa Academy of Sciences and Technology, Prof. Hashimoto's project. In 1999, he joined Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). In 2015, he moved to the Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry, CAS. Since 2008, he also served as the dean of School of Chemistry and Environment in Beihang University. He was elected as a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences and The World Academy of Sciences in 2009 and 2012. In 2016, he also elected as a foreign member of the US National Academy of Engineering. He has published over 500 papers including 3 papers in Nature, 1 paper in Science, 1 paper in Nature Reviews Materials, 1 paper in Nature Nanotechnology, 1 paper in Nature Materials, 4 papers in Natural Communication, 3 papers in Science Advance, 2 papers in Chem. Rev., 6 papers in Chem. Soc. Rev., 7 papers in Acc. Chem. Res., 40 papers in Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 26 papers in J. Am. Chem. Soc., and 103 papers in Adv. Mater., the works have been cited more than 48000 times with an H index of 108

Professor Michelle Coote

Professor Michelle Coote is the 2017 Georgina Sweet ARC laureate Fellow and an Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society. She is a graduate of the University of New South Wales, where she completed a B.Sc. (Hons) in industrial chemistry (1995), followed by a Ph.D. in polymer chemistry (2000). Following postdoctoral work at the University of Durham, UK, she joined the Research School of Chemistry, Australian National University in 2001, initially as a postdoctoral fellow with Professor Leo Radom. She established her own research group in 2004 and was promoted to Professor in 2011. She has published over 200 papers in the fields of polymer chemistry, radical chemistry and computational quantum chemistry, and is a member of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science. She has received many awards including the 2001 IUPAC prize for young scientists, the RACI Cornforth medal (2000), Rennie medal (2006) and David Sangster Polymer Science and Technology Achievement Award (2010), the Le Fevre Memorial Prize of the Australian Academy of Science (2010) and the Pople Medal of the Asia-Pacific Association for Theoretical and Computational Chemistry (2015). In 2014, she was elected to the Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Science.

Professor Martina Stenzel

Martina Stenzel studied chemistry at the University of Bayreuth, Germany, before completing her PhD in 1999 at the Institute of Applied Macromolecular Chemistry, University of Stuttgart, Germany. She started as a postdoctoral fellow at UNSW in 1999 and is now a full Professor in the school of chemistry as well as co-director of the Centre for Advanced Macromolecular Design (CAMD)

Her research interest is focused on the synthesis of functional nanoparticles for drug delivery applications. Martina Stenzel published more than 270 peer reviewed papers mainly on polymer and nanoparticle design. She received a range of awards for her work including the 2011 Le Fèvre Memorial Prize of the Australian Academy of Science.

Martina has served as a panel member for the Australian Research Council. She is currently the chair of the National Chemistry Committee of the Australian Academy of Science and has been active in the RACI for many years, which includes her role as Honorary Secretary and chair of the polymer division. She is currently scientific editor of the RSC flagship journal Materials Horizons.