ARC Nanotechnology Network

"HOPE" Meeting on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Tsukuba, Japan 24/02/2008 - 28/02/2008

The Japan Society for the promotion of Science (JSPS) is holding its first "HOPE Meeting" on Nanoscience and Nanotechnology in Tsukuba from the 24th to the 28th of February 2008, and is offering up to five fully-funded scholarships, including air fares and local expenses, for Australian PhD students to participate. There will be up to five students from each of another 11 Asia/Pacific countries plus about 25 Japanese students, making about 80 participants in all.

Speakers and mentors at the meeting will include:

  • Dr. Leo Esaki (1973 Nobel Laureate in Physics)
  • Dr. Alan J. Heeger (2000 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry)
  • Dr. Robert B. Laughlin (1998 Nobel Laureate in Physics)
  • Dr. Heinrich Rohrer (1986 Nobel Laureate in Physics)
  • Dr. Hideki Shirakawa (2000 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry)
Other distinguished researchers will also participate.

The aim of the meeting is to give opportunities to excellent graduate students from countries in the region to engage in interdisciplinary small-group discussions with Nobel Laureates and other distinguished scientists as well as with research students from other countries.

According to the rules for the meeting, the five recommended candidates must be of Australian nationality, but need not be currently located in Australia.

Nomination forms are available here for the student and here for the recommender. Nominations close with us here at ARCNN on Monday October 22. Forms should be submitted by e-mail and also by post to authenticate signatures.

Selection of the five final candidates will be made by ARCNN and these will be forwarded to the Australian Academy of Science for recommendation to JSPS.

A copy of the agenda can be found here
Contact: Ilonka Krolikowska
Email: link
Phone: +61 2 6125 2495
Webpage: AAS.pdf