ARC Nanotechnology Network
The Centre for Biomedical Engineering

The Centre for Biomedical Engineering

Name of Group Leader:

Professor Derek Abbott  

Physical Address:

The University of Adelaide
SA 5005

Mailing Address:

As Above  






Nanotechnology Research Programs/Activities:

There are a wide range of activities. Those that include the nanoscale are:

a) The National T-ray Facility. This includes studies of molecular dynamics at the nanoscale.

b) Quantum Computing Theory Group. Using bioinspired game-theoretic techniques we are exploring foundational issues in quantum computing such as decoherence and the search for new quantum algorithms.  

Scale of Nanotechnology Research Effort:

20 PhD candidates plus 10 doctoral staff.  

Nanotechnology research facilities:

The National T-ray Facility, is a multi-user facility with four T-ray beam lines.

These terahertz frequencies (0.1 to 10 THz) are ideal for probing molecular low frequency resonances for understanding fundamental dynamics at the nanoscale.  



Collaboration Information


Group Websites: